Monday, 01 July 2013 00:00

March/April 2013 Newsletter

Rate this item
(1 Vote)

Glass Art E-Newsletter March/April 2013

\n This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. >



 Newsletter                             March/April  2013  
  Shawn Photo 
Our multifocused editorial content this issue covers the gamut of hot, warm, and cold glass.  From Peter McGrain's new architectural Vitri-Fusaille® project and Berni North's glassblowing studio/coffee shop to Rowan LeCompte's windows for the national cathedral, Glass Art remains your complete source for all things glass. 
This issue is dedicated to the memory of Boyce Lundstrom, widely regarded as the Father of Fusing. With his cowboy hat and iconic personality, Lundstrom was an entre-preneur, innovator, author, teacher, and glass craftsman. On December 2, 2012, he lost his fight with brain cancer. His goal from the beginning was to make fusing accessible to the common person and to recycle materials whenever possible. Long before "going green" was politically correct, he preached about reusing and re-fusing. 


In Honor of Lundstrom, let us never refuse to re-fuse,


Shawn Waggoner



Deadline for Advertising


July/August 2013                                 September/October 2013

Ad Closing   May 20, 2013                  Ad Closing    July 20, 2013

Ad Materials  May 30, 2013                 Ad Materials  July 30, 2013

Issue Mails   June 27, 2013                Issue Mails   August 23, 2013


Veenstra100.jpgEtched Glass Studio Profile 

James A. Veenstra 

E-Scape Art Glass

by Colleen Bryan

Much of Veenstra's work these days is for smaller residential applications, another adaptation to the economic ecosystem.
Jonathan Harris
The Influence of History
by Collen Bryan
History is no dead and dusty thing as Jonathan Harris reflects on it, but rather a living influence and a creative source for
his artwork. 


Judith Schaechter
Feral Child 
by Shawn Waggoner  
Judith Schaechter's new work Feral Child transports the viewer into the cold and snowy world of a girl raised by wolves, befriended by birds, and more comfortable in abandoment than in civilized society. 




                               Glass Patterns Quarterly    

                          Upcoming  Glass Expert Webinars™ 


         Please join our sister publication Glass Patterns Quarterly in 2013 for Live, 
           Two-Hour, Interactive Web Wor
kshops with Renowned Glass Artists    

                            No Traveling Required!   $89.00 per Webinar 

 falling angel   


Innovations in Working with Boro Dichro

                  with Milon Townsend

This is the very first Webinar experience with glass master Milon Townsend. He's been working on his new book Flamworking, Volume ll, and the material contained in this presentation is excerpted from it. Please consider joining in. You'll have a great time, and learn more than you bargained for!


Tuesday, April 30, 2013 

8:30 - 10:30 p.m. Eastern      
7:30 - 9:30 p.m. Central
6:30 -  8:30 p.m. Mountain    
5:30 -  7:30 p.m. Pacific 
3:00 - 5:00 p.m. Eastern        
2:00 - 4:00 p.m. Central
1:00 - 3:00 p.m. Mountain
12:00 p.m. (noon) - 2:00 p.m. Pacific


Back by Popular Demand
Tanya Veit, Picasso Fusing  
3:00 - 5:00 p.m. Eastern        2:00 - 4:00 p.m. Central
1:00 - 3:00 p.m. Mountain     12:00 p.m. (noon) - 2:00 p.m. Pacific 
8:30 - 10:30 p.m. Eastern       7:30 - 9:30 p.m. Central
6:30 -  8:30 p.m. Mountain     5:30 - 7:30 p.m. Pacific

              Glass Art 2013 Editorial Calendar

      Glass Art 2013 ...l Calendar.jpg




Thank You!


We hope you've enjoyed our newsletter and welcome any comments or ideas for upcoming issues. 


Maureen James, Publisher                                                                 

Shawn Waggoner, Editor  
Glass Art                                                                                          
In This Issue
Etched Glass Studio Profile...James A. Veenstra
Hot Glass Studio Profile...Jonathan Harris
Independent Artists...Judith Schaechter
            March/April 2013  
Quick Links
Business Nature:  Find the Supplier, Teacher, Artist, or 
Art Piece  
Products and Services:  Find the Products or Services 
you Need

American Glass Guild


May 15-19, 2013

St Augustine, Florida  


KBW Foundation
4th Annual Glass
Art Conference Cruise
May 17, 2013


                Glass Art 
              Back Issues       
       January/February 2013
 November/December 2012  
             July/August 2012
              May/June 2012
Read 1278 times Last modified on Thursday, 19 June 2014 12:55