Friday, 16 November 2012 14:36

May/June 2012 Newsletter

Rate this item
(1 Vote)
Glass Art E-Newsletter May/June 2012 \n This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. >

GlassArtRed

GlassArt-May-Ju...012BHeader.jpg 

Newsletter

May/June 2012         

Greetings!,Shawn Photo  

   

This issue of Glass Art magazine contains a smorgasbord of hot, warm, and cold glass created by artists who have perfected their work over decades and also those who are just finding their footing in glass.

 

Our hot glass profile features Brook White, glassblower and owner of Flame Run Glass Studio and Gallery in Louisville, Kentucky. White discusses his move back to Louisville Glassworks to take over their hot shop, which will be operated under the auspices of Flame Run at Glassworks.

 

Warm glass artists include translator of the subconscious, Michael Janis, who creates intricate glass powder drawings that depict the poetry, symbolism, and magic of the everyday. Retailer Lisa Becker, owner of Art Glass Array in St. Charles, Missouri, offers beginning and advanced students a well-rounded education in fused glass, and Ed Hoy recalls how his business has grown since he opened his first store in 1972.

 

Cold glass is represented by sandblasting artist Kathy Bradford. Though fully adept and successful in stained glass and fusing, Bradford is now focusing all her creative energies on sandblasting and has entered the public art arena, a move that is helping this glass artist ride out economic hard times.

 

Hoping you"ll continue learning from industry leaders in each issue of Glass Art,

 

Shawn Waggoner

Editor

Suevel Studios

Retailer Profile

Suevel Studios, Inc.

Sharing Insights into a Successful Business

 

As new art glass retailers Markay and Eric Suevel learned the trade for their newly acquired store in Arlington Heights, Illinois, they stumbled upon some insights that are relevent to healthy operations in any retail environment. This article was originally published on page 18 of the Fall 2010 issue of Profitable Glass Quarterly.

 
Pollack small.jpg
Andrew Jackson Pollack
by Collen Bryan
 
Andrew Pollack's parents were involved in the arts and gave him an orientation to art and to creating. His mother was an art teacher and owned a pottery business. His father was a lover of music, art, and food. Andy felt the imperative to make his own place as an artist using self-chosen media and forms. This article was originally published on page 6 of the Summer 2010 issue of Profitable Glass Quarterly.
 

Educational(1).jpg

Educational Profile          
by Kristen Rice      

 

I had always  wanted to work on large-scale projects with children, and when I saw how much they loved to create, I began to think about how we could use their efforts to make our school and our community better. There was a community garden across from the school that was somewhat neglected, and the people in charge granted us permission to install mosaic columns that would be created by the school's art students.  

This article was originally published on page 20 of the Spring 2010 issue of Profitable Glass Quarterly.

 

Zachary small.png

Glasscraft Emerging Artist Award Winner 2011

Zachary Jorgenson

 

Glass Art has joined with Glasscraft Inc., The Flow magazine, and Glass Patterns Quarterly to expand the Glasscraft Emerging Artist Award (GEAA) to recognize up-and-coming flameworking artists. Winners are selected from artists who have contributed to the glass art community through technical and artistic innovation. The 2011 award goes to murrine artist, Zachary Jorgenson.

 

  

 Glass Patterns Quarterly Expert Glass Webinars

No Traveling Required! 

Cypres-Sunset163x219.jpg

 
Please join our sister publication Glass Patterns Quarterly for a live, in-depth, two-hour workshop Webinar with glass artist and teacher, David Alcala. In this live presentation, David will be sharing techniques from his book, Sand to Glass.
 
For more information and to choose the date that best suits your schedule, click on the Web links listed below. 
 
July 10, 2012, 3:00 - 5:00 p.m. Eastern, 2:00 - 4:00 p.m. Central,
1:00 - 3:00 p.m. Mountain, and 12:00 p.m. (noon) - 2:00 p.m. Pacific.
 
July 12, 2012, 8:30 - 10:30 p.m. Eastern, 7:30 - 9:30 p.m. Central,
6:30 - 8:30 p.m. Mountain, 5:30 - 7:30 p.m. Pacific.

2012 Glass Art Editorial Calendar

GlassArt2012Dea...etterFixed

 

 

Thank You!

 

We hope you've enjoyed our newsletter and welcome any comments or ideas for upcoming issues. Look for our next newsletter in August 2012.

 

Maureen James, Publisher                                                                 

Shawn Waggoner, Editor 

Glass Art                                                                                          
In This Issue
Retailer Profile, Suevel Studios, Inc
Hot Glass Profile, Andrew Jackson Pollack
Educational Profile, Kristen Rice
 
GlassArt-May-Ju...ver105x136.jpg
Quick Links
  
               
             
Calendar
       Calendar

SGAA

 Stained Glass Association of America

103rd Annual Summer Conference

June 11-13, 2012

Kansas City, Missouri

 

Glass Art Society 

Conference

June 13-17, 2012

  Toledo, Ohio

 

The Michigan Project

 June 15-17, 2012

Detroit Michigan

 

AGG

 American Glass Guild

 Conference

July 20-22, 2012

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 

 

KBW Foundation
Angel Program

 

 Glass Art 
           Back Issues
   January/February 2012
    GlassArtJanuary...ver105x136.jpg
 November/December 2011
    GlassArtNov-Dec11Cover 
  
Read 759 times Last modified on Friday, 16 November 2012 17:58